Montage of plays performed in Nantwich Theatre

Nantwich Players Studio Team Bring Home Gold!

Tue 7 May 2019Nantwich Players Studio Team Bring Home Gold!

Back in March Nantwich Players played host to the first Cheshire One Act Drama Festival organised by Bev Clarke and Sue Doherty, which is part of the All England Theatre Festival.

The Prestigious All England Theatre festival is now in its eighth decade and is the only country wide competitive festival for one act drama in England. This 6-month long competition is organised regionally, and after a series of Preliminary, Quarter and Semi-final rounds across the country, this culminates in a Grand Final in which the 4 ‘Area’ champions, compete for the title of ‘English Champions’. The English Champions then go on to meet the Scottish, Welsh and Irish Champions in a bid to be crowned British Champions!

In this initial Round the Nantwich Players entry to the Festival, ‘Edgar and Annabel’ by Sam Holcroft won 4 Awards including, Best Actor – Harry Johnson for his Leading role of Nick , Best Actress – Bethany Froud for her leading role of Marianne , Best Production – Edgar and Annabel and The AETF Trophy as the overall winner of the festival and moving forward to the Semi Finals in Sunderland to compete for the Northern Champions title.

The Northern Competition took place on the 4th and 5th of May at the Washington Arts Centre. After some very tough competition, Nantwich Players were Announced the Winners at Sunday nights award ceremony, along with Bethany Froud winning the award for Best Actress for her Leading role of Marianne in the play.


The Nantwich Players Team now Move forward to the All England Final in Maidenhead on June 8th to represent the North, as the ‘Northern Champions’ to compete against 3 other Area Champions in a bid to become the All England Champions.

The North have not brought the title home for a very long time so lets se if Nantwich Players can be the ones to do it! Its going to be an explosive Grand Final.

See the below video for the moment we were announced as winners...