Montage of plays performed in Nantwich Theatre

Award Winning Success for Nantwich Players

Thu 18 July 2019Award Winning Success for Nantwich Players

Nantwich Players have had another successful awards season scooping no less than 17 Awards for their Main House and festival productions this year!

Its been a big year for Nantwich players. This has been the first year of producing no less than 11 productions in a single year at our beautiful little theatre in the heart of Nantwich. We have seen such a varied season of exciting plays ranging from ‘A Bunch of Amateurs’, ‘Breaking the Code’, ‘The Secret Garden’, ‘The Beauty Queen of Leenane’ and ‘The Ladykillers’. Our Winter Mini Season in February contained no less than 4 productions, ‘The Laramie Project’, ‘The Hollow Crown’, ‘Albert’ and ‘Edgar & Annabel’.

Not forgetting our wonderful Youth Theatre who pulled out all the stops in their fantastic production of Millers classic ‘The Crucible’ in March.

This season also saw the introduction of our new Studio Theatre, who brought us 4 new and exciting studio pieces including ‘Dinner’, ‘it’s a Wonderful Life’ (The Radio Play), the one act plays ‘Albert’ and ‘Edgar and Annabel’ and finally ‘The River’.

It’s been a Busy year for us, and finally (because we clearly were not busy enough!) we have been touring the county with our Award-winning Festival entry ‘Edgar and Annabel’ who managed to clinch the Regional and Northern Champion Titles, Became AETF All England Finalists and NDFA Finalists. We don’t do things by half around here!

So, to the awards…...

We are always so proud of all our members and the work they put into all our productions! So many unsung heroes, but today we celebrate those who have won the trophies and acknowledge the level of excellence that we have all come to know of our fabulous Nantwich Players family.

And the winners are……


Certificates of Achievement

1. Avril Allman, Michelle Boden, Moira Hignett, and Anne-Marie Scragg for teamwork in Ladies' Day.

2. Olive Holding for skilful handling of the robin puppet in The Secret Garden.

Rising Star Award


Olive Holding                     Vickie Martin                     The Thrill of Love

Matthew Medovnikov   Rev Hale                               The Crucible

Alex Lonsdale                     Rev Parris                            The Crucible


Winner:                Alex Lonsdale    Rev Parris           The Crucible


Alan Price Memorial Trophy Best Male Comedy Performance

Nominations:     Simon Porter     Nigel      A Bunch of Amateurs


Brian Roberts Memorial Trophy Best Male Supporting Performance

Nominations:     Jerry Park            Barry     Ladies Day


Harry Horton Memorial Trophy Best Performance Female

Nomination:       Sian Weedon    Ruth Ellis              The Thrill of Love


Malcolm Edwards Memorial Trophy Best Performance Male


Colin Johnston  Alan Turing         Breaking the Code

David Bryan        Jefferson Steel  A Bunch of Amateurs


Winner:                Colin Johnston  Alan Turing         Breaking the Code


John Fox Memorial Award (Special Adjudicators Award)

Nomination:       Olive Holding     Handling the robin puppet           Secret Garden


Irene Garside Memorial Trophy Best Director

Winner:   Chris Ridge      Breaking the Code


Keith Williams Trophy for the play placed second

The Secret Garden directed by Michaela Warrilow


John Goldsmith Memorial Trophy for the winning play of the festival

Breaking the Code directed by Chris Ridge





Beauty queen of Leenane Poster - Commendation

Youth and Panto

The Barry Phillips Award - Best Young Actor (Male)

Winner:                Edward Rolfe - Danforth                               The Crucible

The Rebecca Seymour Award - Best Young Actor (Female)

Nomination:       Orlanda Jones - Abigail Williams                 The Crucible

Winner:                Mollie Pickering - Tituba                                The Crucible


Best Lighting and Sound

Winner:                The Crucible


Best Costume

Nomination: The Crucible


Best Director

Nomination:       Anne-Marie Scragg                                          The Crucible


Best Youth Production

Winner:                The Crucible


Senior Productions


Best Actor under 18 in a Senior Production

Nomination:       Nathan Betteridge - Colin Craven              Secret Garden


The Geoffrey Croxford Cup for Best Supporting Male Actor

Nomination:       John Mackay – Dillwyn Knox                      Breaking the Code


The Ron Gleave Shield for Best Lighting and Sound

Nomination:       Breaking the Code


The Bramhall Cup for Best Set Presentation

Nomination:       Breaking the Code

                                The Beauty Queen of Leenane


The Vicky Lane Trophy for Dramatic Achievement

Nomination:       Breaking the Code


The David Lane Cup for Best Male Actor

Winner: Colin Johnston – Alan Turing in Breaking the Code


The Allan Warburton Cup for Best Female Actor

Nomination:       Megan Goode – Maureen            The Beauty Queen of Leenane


The Chronicle Cup for Best Director

Nomination:       Chris Ridge                                          Breaking the Code


The John F Blackburn Award for Best Overall Production

Winner:                Breaking the Code



Cheshire one act Festival

Best Actor

Nomination:     Danny Froud – Nico                      Albert

Winner:                Harry Johnson- Nick                        Edgar and Annabel

Best Actress

Winner:                Bethany Froud – Marianne          Edgar and Annabel

Best Production Trophy

Winner:                Edgar and Annabel

AETF Trophy Winner

Winner:                Edgar and Annabel


AETF Northern Finals

Best Actor

Nomination:       Harry Johnson – Nick                      Edgar and Annabel

Best Actress

Winner:                Bethany Froud – Marianne          Edgar and Annabel

The Silver Stag: Northern Champions Trophy.

Winner:                Edgar and Annabel


AETF All England Grand Final

Adjudicators Award

Nomination:       Bethany Froud and Harry Johnson – Marianne and Nick     Edgar and Annabel


Congratulations to all who were nominated and to our winners!

Here is to another wonderful year in 2019/20!